Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Nissan > 240SX | Silvia | 200SX(RWD) | Gazelle | 180SX
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 10-04-2004, 10:51 AM   #1
heibermann
AF Newbie

aircon

Hi ppl

I am new to AF; in fact this is my first post. Having read the majority of the newbie FAQ threads and also searched the other threads, I am confident that my question has not been asked (much)...

I have an aussie spec '98 S14A 200sx (i think you guys would call it a kouki- ?)

It has the SR20DET blacktop with variable valve timing etc and is a 5 spd man. Mechanically, it is in completely stock condition.

I noticed that shortly after the last dealer service, it dropped in power significantly (as detected via seat-of-the-pants performance meter). Initially I put this down to a change of weather, but this made no sense as it was getting colder- should be making more power. Then I threw in some injector cleaner- made no difference.

Conundrum starts here-
Yesterday I began driving to work, and then I turned on the airconditioning (largely unused during the previous few months due to winter- except once in a while to keep the gaskets/seals in good condition).
Lo and behold- my car is performing (accelerating) waaay better (as I remember it used to), but only when the AC is turned on!

So the question is- Why would turning on the AC give me better power than with it turned off?
This never used to make any measureable difference, but by my reasoning it should have less performance with AC turned on..

I experimented with it again today and found the same results.