Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical > Tires and Wheels
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 07-31-2007, 11:36 AM   #1
l-man
AF Newbie

Exclamation is wal-mart trying to kill my family?!?

ok my wife was sold a set of goodyear Viva 2 tires at wal-mart awhile back for our 2001 4 dr Explorer.... and these things wore out in less then 50k when she went back to find out why she was told these were Passanger car tires not SUV tires, I am not a car expert but I know that tires are put in load ranges, and am pretty sure this is why they wore out so fast, my question is this.....How unsafe and irresponsible was it for them to sell these to her in the first place... and second was my family in any danger because of the wrong tires...I am not looking to sue or anything but they wont even refund any of our money or a discount on new tires, I jsut want to go argue my point with a litttle knowlage and not sound like a total idiot....thanks for you help
l-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 12:58 PM   #2
way2old
TOKEN HILLBILLY

Re: is wal-mart trying to kill my family?!?

Thing 1. Wal-Mart is not an automotive repair facility. They will sell you whatever they can to get your money.
Thing 2. The load rating is not really that much of an issue on your vehicle unless you are hauling a large load it it all the time. Granted, the tires were under sized for the truck, but I don't think there was any damage.
Thing 3. What is the milage rating for the tires you purchased? Is the 50,000 range reasonable for the life expectancy of the tire?