Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Mercury > Grand Marquis
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 01-25-2008, 12:18 PM   #1
Blue)(Fusion
AF Enthusiast

Send a message via AIM to Blue)(Fusion Send a message via Yahoo to Blue)(Fusion
What do I need to do my own maintenenace?

So I've been reading up all the information I can baout my car (I want to make it last through 100,000 miles and beyond). I read many of the horror stories involving the intake manifold. I'm somewhat of a paranoid person when it comes to performance and the life of anything of mine, but most likely, many of you are, too, about your cars.

Anyway, I am a novice when it comes to actually doing my own work on car engines. I can name, label, and even describe most parts in a car or aircraft engine, but when it comes to doing work on them, I've never really done anything besides add oil and other fluids when they're low.

But I'm tired of spending $500-$1000 at the shop when I get my car worked on only to have to come back because when they fix one thing, two things end up smashed by a wrench.

I just bought the Haynes service manual for the 1988-2000 Grand Marquis and Crown Victorias to help me out. I intend to start performing my own maintenance on my car and keeping it running clean, and mean for years to come, since I no longer have much trust in mechanics.

So, for starters, I intend to purchase a new intake manifold to replace the original one. I have no special automotive tools as it stands, but the Autozone is only a few minutes away. What kind of stuff should I expect to have to get to replace this manifold?