Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Coffee Break (Off-Topic) > COMPLETELY off-topic
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
COMPLETELY off-topic Talk about anything other than cars. But you can't be mad and angry in this forum!
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 03-24-2008, 10:10 PM   #1
kubiakco
AF Newbie

Talking the Talk

Now i admit im new to camaro ownership (or car ownership in general) and maybe im preeching to the wrong crowd but i have no idea whats going on. Looking through a couple of thease post thingys (especially regarding engines) i just get confused. For example.... what the hell is a cam housing, alternator switch, fuel retardation, igntion timing, all that stuff. Now i know many of you obviously can talk the talk but my question is... how?

I just want to understand whats going on so i can start building my car and save some money by doing it myself.

so basically..... how do u learn all this stuff?? is there a good manual someone can recommend or some website, book, or video?

im not a mechanic, just a college student with a newfound passion toward my new ride, i just wish i new how to channel it.
kubiakco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 01:05 AM   #2
blindeyed
eBay aDdict™

Send a message via AIM to blindeyed
Re: Talking the Talk

We've all been there before. I'm not sure how everyone else here learned the ropes around an engine bay, but me personally, I studied here:
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/car-en...ce-channel.htm