Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Coffee Break (Off-Topic) > COMPLETELY off-topic
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
COMPLETELY off-topic Talk about anything other than cars. But you can't be mad and angry in this forum!
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 05-08-2023, 10:23 PM   #1
Stitchsbrother
AF Newbie

Any seasoned Auto techs hit a wall?

Hello all,
My background is, 8 years professionally in the automotive repair industry as a 100% commission flat rate technician. I repair and maintain any vehicle that management pulls in for what ever reason. I have been to multiple organizations with a small stint at dealership life.
Im sorry if this is a wrong first post to have in this forum.
If this is wrong, mods please delete this post and message me personally,
I will not and do not want to cause any problem or discontent,
I am lost for what I need to do.
I am looking for advice, I do not currently and have not for a long time enjoyed working or fixing vehicles. I did not have passion for this profession when I started this career, I fell into it due to not having a marketable skill after I worked for a marine construction company doing various jobs including maintenance and repair of their heavy equipment.

I feel like I have hit a wall with my career in the industry. Where the skill or achievement of repairing or diagnosing hard to figure out vehicles is just another day in the life. Not even another notch in the belt of what i can or have achieved. Everyday feels like a drag of moving through the motions of Vehicle inspections and diagnostics with very little to no reward.