Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Info Please: Ring Replacement "88

jcaxe
08-15-2008, 08:31 AM
Hi,
I have an '88 Excel that I paid $500. for about 12 years ago. It's had a hard life and given good service most of that time. I'm in the process of resurrecting it after allowing it to sit parked for two years. I parked it because it was smoking badly, and I didn't need or want to find out why.
Now I do. I've tuned up the motor and have it running smooth enough for my standards, but it seems to be burning oil. The lifters are tight (about eight years ago, when replacing a valve cover gasket I found them very loose, it had been burning oil then too). So, I'm thinking it needs rings.
I'm a pretty good backyard mechanic, which means I know when to read the instructions. But I don't have any, and I don't want to have to buy them...I'm kinda cheap that way. If you have a repair manual that covers this job, can you share? I'll especially want the torque specs.
I also accept all advice.
Thanks.

denisond3
08-19-2008, 03:32 PM
I have the service manual for my 1987 Excel, which I just bought last month - both the manual and the car. Unfortunately I cant/wont share my manual with you; it cost me less than $30 on ebay, and came with the wiring diagrams too....and paid for itself in the first days work I did. I will be able to give you the info on the torque specs, might even be able to scan those pages in and email you a .pdf file of them. Let me know.
This car had been sitting for a year, & I paid $550 for it. I had to remove/clean the carburetor, disconnecting all dozen or so of the vacuum lines, 3 fuel lines, coolant hoses, and the other stuff runnning between the car and that Mikuni carburetor. The manual (and the pictures I took with my digital camera) were the only reason I was able to put it all back. We have emissions testing here, so the car had to pass that as well as the safety inspection; and it did.