Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

I need some help

rpz123isme
10-17-2007, 11:46 PM
Ok here is my problem!! I have the oppertunity to buy a 1988 300zx n/a for $200$ the motor has 6 percent leak down which is awsome! The trans is blown ) ; I need to know what transmissions will bolt to that car! it is currently automatic! I would like to make it manuel! will a 240sx trans fit! or possibly a hardbody trans or even a newer zx trans! I just can't seem to find a 88 zx man/trans for a good price! If a 240 trans will work whats the pro's con's ! any info would be great i am new to the nissan world so forgive me if i have asked a ? that has been asked befor! I am just trying to figure out if this car will be worth my while! Thanks

CronuSurtr
10-18-2007, 01:50 AM
OK... the 240sx tranny will work, kinda, you need the bell housing from the 300zx tranny, then it should line up right, the only thing is you might have to change the rear axel, depending on the ratio... dunno for sure, im more of a 240z-280zx man myself... (i think the 300zx's were a step in the wrong direction) but still, good luck...

http://www.automotiveforums.com/vbulletin/t521033.html

that might help some, pretty much the same topic from the other side.:grinyes:

rpz123isme
10-19-2007, 01:28 AM
Thanks a bunch! I have a few more ? to ask! is the bell housing from the 300zx auto trans ok to bolt to the 240 trans! and by changing the axel you mean rear end? because my buddy has a 24o parts car and i want to get all the parts at once! any input would help thanks!!!!!!!!!

CronuSurtr
10-19-2007, 09:33 AM