Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

2000 Windstar 3.8L ATF Filter & Fluid Change

OldFaithful
01-03-2006, 07:38 PM
I have the Ford Manuals and I am maintaining my daughter's and my 2000 Windstars, that is a total of two cars. Hers at 140,000+ and mine at 120,000+ and it is ATF replacement time. This is my first time to try this on the Windstars. Before, I had it done. I have the Ford manuals.

The Ford manual shows disconnecting the cooler return line, as is shown on other threads in this forum, but pumping only for enough time to loose 2 to 3 quarts, replace those with fresh fluid, and then fire it up again to get the other 10+ quarts. Is this the way it should go, or can you pump it all out, change the filter and gasket and then refill the tranny?

Thanks in advance for your response.

Regards,

Jim

12Ounce
01-03-2006, 08:54 PM
I also have the rather confusing Ford manuals. I've finally surmised that the process outlined is an effort to fairly thoroughly purge the tranny and the cooler ... going thru about 13 qts of fresh fluid in the process. But you can't push out the old with the new and not have "fluid mixing" in the process. And unless you drop the pan, you can not wipe out the pan and clean the magnets.

So, like many others, I think dropping the pan and replacing the 6 1/3 qts that drains ... but doing it twice as frequently as someone might with the Ford process ... is the better practice. As long as the fluid is fairly clean, there is no reason to suspect the cooler needs "flushing".

I believe this is the practice suggested by the Haynes manual.

By the way, the pan gasket is reusable.

OldFaithful
01-04-2006, 08:22 AM