Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Windstar
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-08-2005, 11:53 AM   #1
Zanel
AF Newbie

Question Windstar 96 - High NOx Emissions

Hello Everybody:
As I'm a novice to this forum, please welcome myself.
I have trouble figuring out what causes High NOx emission failure with my 96 3.8 Windstar.

It only fails under (15 MPH) test condition:
1. 15 MPH and 1649 RPM: NO = 673 - FAIL, should be 512 MAX
2. 25 MPH and 1351 RPM: NO = 724 - PASS, should be 765 MAX

I have done so far the following: EGR Valve (replaced), EGR Regulator (checked, OK), DPFE Sensor (replaced), all hoses, cleaned batterfly channels in intake manifold, IMRC Actuators (checked, OK).

Engine is NOT overheating and NO trouble codes detected.

If possible, I would appreciate a quick feedback as I have another test schedulled for coming Monday. Thank you.
--
Zanel
--
Zanel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 12:25 PM   #2
DRW1000
AF Enthusiast

Re: Windstar 96 - High NOx Emissions

The most common cause of high Nox emmisions is too high of a temperature during combustion. The emission control system that the auto makers came up with is the EGR system.

The EGR system routes exhaust fumes into the intake stream that in effect lowers the amount of oxygen in the incoming air and lowers combustion temperatures.

It looks like you have checked the obvious:
EGR Valve
DPFE
EGR Controller
and hoses