Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Subaru > Impreza/9-2x/Outback Sport
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 04-05-2004, 12:28 AM   #1
kman10587
AF Enthusiast

Send a message via AIM to kman10587
STi worth it over WRX? (I'm only 17.)

I've been thinking about buying a WRX, due not only to its performance, but to its great crash test scores, four doors, and bulletproof reliability. Now, my parents could more than likely afford to get me an STi instead, but I dunno if it would be worth it. I've only been driving for half a year, I have little experience with performance vehicles, and I'm not very good with manual transmission yet. I'm afraid that the STi would be too difficult or dangerous for an inexperienced person like myself to drive.

I have a couple questions: is the STi just as safe and reliable as the WRX? And do you think it would be better for me to just get the cheaper WRX to improve my clutch-driving skills and learn how to handle a performance vehicle, or pay the premium for the STi and probably enjoy it much more later on?

Thanks a bunch.
kman10587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 12:44 AM   #2
Jay!
Horizontally Opposed

Send a message via AIM to Jay! Send a message via Yahoo to Jay!
Re: STi worth it over WRX? (I'm only 17.)

Who's gonna pay for the insurance?
Jay! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 01:29 AM   #3
ragnarok720
AF Enthusiast