Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Nissan > Pathfinder | Terrano | QX4 | Xterra | Patrol | Safari | X-Trail
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Pathfinder | Terrano | QX4 | Xterra | Patrol | Safari | X-Trail Nissans greatest 4WDs and SUVs
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 08-24-2004, 11:53 AM   #1
Darth Baiter
AF Newbie

Decoding VIN number or what model did I buy?

Newbie here. Buying a 96 Pathfinder for my son. How can I tell if it's an XE, SE, or LE? No badging on the rear or side and CarFax mentions all 3 models. Any easy way to figure out if I paid to much for an XE or got a fantastic deal on an LE? Any help appreciated or direct me other owners sites.
Darth Baiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 01:34 PM   #2
lewisnc100
AF Enthusiast

Re: Decoding VIN number or what model did I buy?

If there was no badge on the rear then it is probably the XE since the SE and LE for that year had one. The XE and LE will have P235/70/15 OEM tires while the SE had P265/70/15 tires, check the driver's door jamb for the stock tire size. The XE had black bumpers while the LE had chrome bumpers. The stock XE tires also were chrome with the black plastic center caps. If you have a pic it would probably be easy to tell.
lewisnc100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 01:58 PM   #3
Darth Baiter
AF Newbie