Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Impala | Impala SS
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-26-2003, 07:29 PM   #1
chevy_pimp2004
AF Newbie

Unhappy 1977 impala loud engine knocking

Im a 17 year old girl and just bought my first car. ive had it for a month and it just started knocking violently one day. i paid 1500 for this car, it looks very good but evry1 says i got played cause im a girl. I dont care, i love this car and i really want to fix this. People(some mechanics) say I need a new engine block. i'm just starting to learn about the workings of my chevy but i'm not sure which diagnosis to trust.

PLEASE SAVE MY BABY!!!!
chevy_pimp2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 10:32 PM   #2
Fritz The Cat
AF Regular

Re: 1977 impala loud engine knocking

Sounds like your engines a goner. Your choices are:

Rebuild the engine ( most expensive )

Install a remanufactured short or long block ( moderately expensive )

Install a good used engine. ( not as expensive )

Since you are new to cars, I would not recommend you try to do this yourself. Take it to a certified mechanic, or find someone you know who has done this before. Another idea is check the local high schools and community tech collages for auto shop classes that will work on your car. Students do the work under the supervision of the teacher and they charge a much smaller fee. If you want to go with a used engine, check your local "salvage centers" (junk yards). Some of them will do the installation for you and will cost lots less then a pro. mechanic will charge.

Fritz
Fritz The Cat is offline   Reply With Quote