Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Oldsmobile Classics
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2006, 06:59 PM   #1
kbdelta88
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: st louis, Missouri
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Connecting the Lockup on a THM200

I just changed out the tranny in a 1984 delta 88. It's tranny was a THM200 3 speed automatic (no overdrive). My delta 88 orginally had 3 wires going into the lockup connection. I thought the tranny I put in was the same, but it only has two wires. Is this a problem?? Would it hurt to not connect it at all? Should I connect it anyway? HELP?
kbdelta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 08:14 PM   #2
maxwedge
A990 racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chestertown, New York
Posts: 16,619
Thanks: 16
Thanked 334 Times in 328 Posts
Re: Connecting the Lockup on a THM200

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbdelta88
I just changed out the tranny in a 1984 delta 88. It's tranny was a THM200 3 speed automatic (no overdrive). My delta 88 orginally had 3 wires going into the lockup connection. I thought the tranny I put in was the same, but it only has two wires. Is this a problem?? Would it hurt to not connect it at all? Should I connect it anyway? HELP?
One wire is powered up all the time, there should be another one that is grounded as the the car reaches proper load/speed . You may have to hook up a manual switch here as it sounds like the trans is from a different year. Try and get a wiring diagram for your year and see what's what
maxwedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 07:08 PM   #3
repoman76
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: lakecity, Florida
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Connecting the Lockup on a THM200

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbdelta88
I just changed out the tranny in a 1984 delta 88. It's tranny was a THM200 3 speed automatic (no overdrive). My delta 88 orginally had 3 wires going into the lockup connection. I thought the tranny I put in was the same, but it only has two wires. Is this a problem?? Would it hurt to not connect it at all? Should I connect it anyway? HELP?
it sounds like u may have a trany for an earlyier model,my advice is get numbers of trany and contact an olds dealer to find out year and model of trany,and also ask them for a wiring diagrahm.
repoman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Oldsmobile Classics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts