Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Honda > Civic | CRX > '88 - '91 Civic | CRX | Wagon | Shuttlee
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
'88 - '91 Civic | CRX | Wagon | Shuttlee Partnership with: LadyNRedSi.com
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-19-2009, 09:50 PM   #1
ukrkoz
AF Enthusiast

Rear engine mount 91 civic

i had this posted before and have to ask again
91 civic lx, sedan, 1.5
rear engine mount
does anyone know any REASONABLE ways of removing the mount bolt that is covered by undercarriage and flanges on the sides?
as i am no rookie mechanic, and, besides being pissed beyond limits with iffing dumm idea of sticking that bolt where they stuck it, i can't find any way of getting to it.
i was "advised" to lower crossmember, except that that crossmember has power steering, brake tubes, and control arms attached to it, so no lowering it. it almost looks like THE CAR has to be lifted off that crossmember, and try that with ramps.
we just did timing belt on my son's 95 civic, and what a difference that one is. they changed entire engine layout to make it easier and more accessible. this one - damn competition in how to make it all crammed, tangled, and every bolt covered with tubes hoses, wires, or just hidden elsewhere.
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:23 PM   #2
civic&240
AF Newbie

Send a message via MSN to civic&240
Re: Rear engine mount 91 civic

i just used 3/8 drive and random ends and ext. done it a few times,, dont know how tight ur bolts are or that might not work,, it is a big pain in the ass!!
civic&240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 09:02 AM   #3
Tony
TLD Member #1