Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

95 1.9 ticking, knocking???

joeh100
11-05-2006, 12:12 PM
Have ticking sound coming from back of engine. It's getting louder. Lifter, valve problems??? It changes with engine RPM and is definately coming from the back of the engine, not from valve cover.

I'm going to quit running it for now. I've heard of valve problems. Have I caught it in time? How can I fix it?

I'm not a mechanic but I don't believe it's knocking and I'm not afraid of tackiling the repair myself. I really want to keep this car running.

12Ounce
11-05-2006, 01:05 PM
I'd take the head off for a look-see.

joeh100
11-05-2006, 06:18 PM
I'd take the head off for a look-see.

What exactly am I looking for?

12Ounce
11-05-2006, 08:32 PM
Has a valve or valve spring broken? ... a valve insert come loose? A shop that specializes in head repair will be glad to give you a free assessment. With the head off, rotate the crank ... do the pistons go up and down without any "sloppiness"? ... are the piston tops damaged? You can feel a lot while you hand rotate the crank. etc, etc, etc,

Of course, the next step is to drop the pan.

joeh100
11-06-2006, 10:27 AM
How much can I troubleshoot by just taking the valve cover off.

When I said the back of the engine I meant side closest to firewall.
I tried to get a better location on the noise this morning. I used a plastic rod as an acoustic probe (held my ear to it and probed the engine).

The noise can best be described as a tap tap tap noise. Frequency is around 3 or 4 times a second, no more than 5 with engine idling at around 750.

The loudest place I can hear this is on the fuel injectors. All the fuel injectors are making the same noise it seems like. No single one is loudest. Do the fuel injectors make a noise or am I just able to hear it easily here for some reason?