Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

KA24E distributor trigger wheel(s)

speedfreak
04-12-2006, 01:23 AM
First off, I don't have a Nissan and I've never seen the inside of a KA distributor, so forgive me if I say something newbie-ish.

I have the ECU, MAF, injectors, rail, and TB from an '89 240SX. I'm going to chip the ECU and use everything on another engine. I have to recreate the distributor signal for the ECU

1. I've been told elsewhere that there are two different trigger wheels. Is that right?

2. I know that one wheel has four notches with one odd size for the TDC reset. What does the other wheel do?

3. Last, does anyone know the degree spacing of the wheel teeth? Even if you do not, the wheel diameter, cutout widths, and tooth widths will be enough for me to build another wheel from.

slideways...
04-12-2006, 09:47 PM
actually i have some knowledge of it, as mine went bad once. but it was a while ago so im kind of fuzzy on details.
as far as i know it has one wheel, with 360 holes around the wheel, plus
4(i think) extra holes. i dont remember if they are on the outside or inside of the ring of holes. oh and i dont have the distributor on me anymore so i dont have a measurement of the wheel.

speedfreak
04-12-2006, 10:27 PM
Thanks for the reply.

Yeah, I found out that the one with 360 holes is for crank angle. What I suspect , but have not confirmed, is that the 360 wheel is so the ECU can reference spark advance. If that is the case, I'll have seperate ignition and it will be uneeded. The 4-tooth wheel is obviously for the injector order, but a sequential system must have one space longer than the others for TDC reset. One of the wheels, anyway.

slideways...
04-13-2006, 12:06 AM