Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

dome light dilemma

rainman49
01-18-2004, 10:30 PM
Got a puzzling problem with the dome light on my daughter's '96 Civic LX. The light won't come on when a door is opened. The light will only come on when the switch is moved to the on position. The door-activated center position does not work. All the door switches checked out and the dome light door-activated position appears to check out, although I'm just a shadetree mechanic with a multimeter.
Any suggestions??
Thanks,
Rainman

BullShifter
01-19-2004, 12:06 AM
That sure sounds like a door switch problem - Are you sure the door switches aren't bad - they should ground out when the door is open. Check all the fuses. When I worked for Honda I remember one case where the actual dome light switch went bad.
http://www.binghamtonlife.com/manual/2gsm/images/91-23-125.jpg

civic98mi
01-19-2004, 08:45 AM
Does it have an aftermarket cd player installed? If anything is installed besides the factory honda tape player, this will cause the domelight to not work on door open. The honda head unit has a chip in it that controls this...some people put the stock unit back in and hard wire the cd player, which is a big pain. If you pull out the cd player, you'll notice a bright neon green plug that is un-used. Pull this plug out as far as you can to access the wires...i may be wrong, but there's 2 wires you need to splice together...a green with red stripe, and green with black stripe, you splice the 2 together and it should work. If you dont see these 2 wires, post something and i'll double check mine. It's been a few weeks since i fixed mine and i dont remember exactly the wire colors...but i think im right. Hope this helps...

rainman49
01-20-2004, 11:39 PM
Thanks Civic98Mi. I replaced the factory radio with a Kenwood CD head unit. I'll pull the head unit out and look for the plug. I'll update as soon as I have a chance to splice the wires.