Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Infiniti > M30
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2004, 01:54 PM   #1
N.Senada
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Manual trans.

Is it possible to put a manual transmission in an M30? If so, does anyone have any suggestions for doing this. Also, what engine is in the M30?
N.Senada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 09:49 PM   #2
I_Am_Mr_E
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: eden prairie, Minnesota
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Manual trans.

i was also looking into a manual tranny but you have to find a nissan/infiniti with the same motor and rwd, so far the only one that i have found was a nissan truck and there may be a problem with the tranny size, also if the motor in the m30 is a vg30 then you may be able to get a 350z tranny in there but that might get a little spendy and you may have to do some driveshaft fab work to get it to work right, unless you have a shop and all the tools and know how at your hands i would shop around for someone to do it for you. but if anyone finds anything out other than what i have found then please inform me and ^him.
I_Am_Mr_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 12:48 AM   #3
nyeark
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Richardson, Texas
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Best best is an MT from a Z31 - the N/A models had the same engine as the M30 and the same auto trans, so the manual ought to fit. The tricky part is the driveshaft - you'll either have to hope that either the stock one can be cajoled into working, the Z31 MT shaft works, or go the custom route (which would cost a bit). I'm going to look into this over spring break, hopefully, as the M30 really does need a manual.

BTW: hit http://www.phpbbforfree.com/forums/?mforum=jcrapps for more M30 info.
nyeark is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD

Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Infiniti > M30

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts