Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

96" Jimmy Tranny costn me money!

mjcman32
12-23-2009, 09:28 AM
O.k. bought a real clean 96 jimmy v6 4.3. Drove it and it felt fine, bought it was driving the 3 hours home when it seemed like the tranny was slipping going into 3rd, by the time i got home it was real hard to get third to catch by redlining 2nd, So figured I got screwed! Found a used tranny for 350$ with 125,000 supposed to be miles, keep in mind i am no kinda mechanic, But decided I was gonna change this tranny well 4 days to get it out and 3 to get the new one in. So its runnin good for 2-3 weeks and im going down the interstate and all the sudden going up a hill cruise control on its red lining and slowing down I had to slow down to 30 miles an hour to get a gear to catch now I only have 1st and 2nd gear again did I just buy another junk tranny? I checked the fluid it stll looks brand new and is full? P.s. I also had 2 get the cv shafts changed when i did that i went ahead and put a new pitman arm, wheel bearings, ball joints well basically a whole new front end, this truck has already costed me over what it is worth when to cut losses? I found a reman tranny for 1300$ with a 3 year warrenty? Going to hook it up to a computer thing today just to check I will chime back in wit the codes but no service engine lights are on? The truck has 150.000 miles and is in great looking shape? HEEELP?? I'm Having to sell my snowmobile now to get it fixed! Thanks and merry christmas, Mitch:banghead:

mjcman32
12-23-2009, 05:22 PM
O.K. I had it put on a computer today and nothing but an o2 senser, The guy at the garage said hes heard that this year had a problem with both a ground wire to the computer and a key switch problem both of witch can cause your tranny to go out? I called around and asked a few people and noone seems to know anything about these problems. Any thoughts would be much appreciated! Mitch

MagicRat
12-23-2009, 10:04 PM