Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Timing belt

billyray63
01-27-2007, 05:05 PM
I bought a 1999 300 this week and has all the toys on it that Chrysler has to offer. The bad news is it has 160.000 on it. When I got it home I started to hear about the timing belt and that has never been changed. I'm not going drive it tell I put in a new one but should I replace the water pump too. The guy took care of it and and he got it new. He was a old fart like me as I have been a retired mechanic for a few years and I added up what he spend on it as I got all the paper work with and it and it was more then I paid him. If you guys think of something else I should check let me know but new sway bars bushings, tires, rotors, and the list goes on.
Thanks

tinmanwpk
01-30-2007, 07:08 AM
You should definitely replace the belt, and now! They should be replaced at 100k miles along with the water pump and the belts and a couple of other items. You can get all the definitive information at 300mclub.org. I'm a regular contributor on that site and it has all the helpful info. Go lurk for a while if you want. Try the search feature on "timing AND belt" and you will find over 250 threads. Check it out. It will be the best thing you can do today for you and your M. These people love their M's and it shows.

billyray63
01-30-2007, 09:25 AM
I went to the 300m club and join. Thanks for letting know about it. I'm reading there some guys could spend up to $2000 to have the job done. I check at rockauto and I see the belt and waterpump are about 50.00 each. what am I'm missing and what else should I replace with them. Could you list the parts that I need to get. I want to do the job right and I'm going do it myself. I would like to start driving the car but it's going sit in the garage tell I get this done.. I talked to the guy that I got the car from and the garage told him replace the ac and alt belt which he did but nothing about the timing belt.

tinmanwpk
01-30-2007, 09:37 AM