Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

4x4 1999 Blazer switch problem

Blazer_boy
05-30-2006, 01:43 PM
1999 chevy Blazer, v6, 80,000 miles, believe it's a 4.3L

2 years ago I had the 4x4 problem totally fixed for around $1700. Had to switch the transmission at least thats what they told me... I don't know tons about cars so slowly trying to learn more. Well my Blazer now has the same problem it did, but the switch isn't even lighting up when you switch to 4x4 mode, so I bought a new switch, this one isn't lighting up either, turns out the wiring might be the problem so will go look at that... has anyone else had high ammounts of problems with the 4x4 switch on the 99 blazers? Personally I'm not going to replace my transmission again for a while don't have the money and the Blazer runs fine in 2WD. I was just wondering if anything else besides the switch, wiring or transmission could be the problem, I dont think there really is but yea let me know. Like I said I'm still learning more about cars and trying.

thanks, DB

MT-2500
05-30-2006, 09:22 PM
1999 chevy Blazer, v6, 80,000 miles, believe it's a 4.3L

2 years ago I had the 4x4 problem totally fixed for around $1700. Had to switch the transmission at least thats what they told me... I don't know tons about cars so slowly trying to learn more. Well my Blazer now has the same problem it did, but the switch isn't even lighting up when you switch to 4x4 mode, so I bought a new switch, this one isn't lighting up either, turns out the wiring might be the problem so will go look at that... has anyone else had high ammounts of problems with the 4x4 switch on the 99 blazers? Personally I'm not going to replace my transmission again for a while don't have the money and the Blazer runs fine in 2WD. I was just wondering if anything else besides the switch, wiring or transmission could be the problem, I dont think there really is but yea let me know. Like I said I'm still learning more about cars and trying.

thanks, DB