Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Oil leaks only when engine running

88 cherokee owner
05-17-2006, 09:28 AM
I have an 88 jeep cherokee with 180,000 miles. I have an oil leak that only surfaces when the engine is running. it seems to be from the back of the engine. If this helps, the oil drips off the tranny and the oil plug. also, this is a two wheel drive. Any ideas?

fredjacksonsan
05-17-2006, 09:33 AM
Based on other posts I've seen here, it sounds like the rear seal.

In this case, there are two scenarios: 1) Seal is mechanically unsound, so will need to be replaced 2) Seal is sound, but either somewhat inflexible due to age or covered in deposits. For this case, I'd try some Auto RX. I've used this myself and it works as advertised. See www.auto-rx.com (http://www.auto-rx.com) (Of course there are many products that claim to clean/revitalize your engine and seals, but I have had no experience with them)

Also, welcome to AF! You'll find a lot of good information here.

88 cherokee owner
05-17-2006, 10:46 AM
ive heard a lot of people say in some similar situations, it could be a distributor seal/gasket; any truth to that and where is this distributor located?

fredjacksonsan
05-17-2006, 10:55 AM
If you look on top of the engine, you'll see that the plug wires run from the right (passenger) side of the engine to a common point - the distributor. In most pushrod engines there is a long shaft that runs from the distributor down to the crankshaft, and there may be a seal that keeps oil from leaking from this area.

sector95
05-21-2006, 08:05 PM