Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Information Technology

IIwhitexb0iII
01-18-2006, 01:34 PM
My name is Michael Barnwell and I am a freshman IT major at the University of Central Florida. I couldn't help but notice that some of our moderaters are currently employed in this field.
I would appreciate from you guys any information that can be useful to set myself apart from the rest. Additionally, is their anything you wish you would've done while you were in college that you wouldn't mind telling me? Any other general pointers, from find a new major or get certified is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Michael

harrymay
01-18-2006, 04:04 PM
the college degree will help you a lot, but consider getting some certifications before you join the workforce, like a novell CNE, or a unix system admin cert, MCSE. what kind of degree are you pursuing. frankly i would major in business with a minor in computer science but still get the certs. most businesses are looking for someone who knows what needs to be to help the business as far as IT, and if you want to make the big bucks, that is very important.

IIwhitexb0iII
01-19-2006, 04:51 PM
I'm currently in my second semester for the Bachlor in IT but, I see your point on the Business degree with the minor in Computer Science and I'm talking to my advisor about that.

harrymay
01-19-2006, 05:12 PM
nowadays, the key is diversity. whereas most people 30 years ago thought theyd be a doctor the rest of their life or an engineer, most people will change several times.

when i eventually go back to school (i have a really good IT job now around 40k/yr for basic networking/helpdesk) i will get my major in architecture and a minor in management. that way if one career goes bad, you can still fall on the other.

Speednis
01-20-2006, 07:11 AM