Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

95 Accord EGR problem. HELP!!!

Catterman
01-13-2006, 10:55 AM
Hello, my first post!!!

I have a 95 Accord EX 4-cyl VTEC auto with 108,000 miles. This problem has been going on for 2+ year and I can't get a machanic to fix it.

My check engine light comes one when engine is cold and after car has been driven about 2 miles and has warmed up. If I stop and shut the car off, then turn it back on, the check engine light will not come back on. I pulled the blue two-pin and jumped it and got a code of “12”, so I replaced the EGR valve, however the check engine light still reacts in the exact same way. I am also only getting about 27 mpg. Any ideas??? Could it just be the Vacuum Solenoid, or clogged ports??? Thanks so much!

jlcljayne
01-15-2006, 12:48 PM
I am by no means a honda expert...recently purchased a 1995 Accord V6 with egr problems. I have been doing a lot of research and it suggests that Honda had to extend their emissions warranty due to a lawsuit. It extends coverage period 14 years from manufactured date and up to 150,000 miles. Both of which you seem to qualify for.

Do some searches online for accord extended emissions warranty for more information. Your dealer should take care of your egr problems at no cost to you.

Catterman
01-16-2006, 08:28 AM
I am by no means a honda expert...recently purchased a 1995 Accord V6 with egr problems. I have been doing a lot of research and it suggests that Honda had to extend their emissions warranty due to a lawsuit. It extends coverage period 14 years from manufactured date and up to 150,000 miles. Both of which you seem to qualify for.

Do some searches online for accord extended emissions warranty for more information. Your dealer should take care of your egr problems at no cost to you.
WOW, that is a new one for me, I will see what I can find, let me know if you, or anyone else, has any other ideas. Thanks so much

lorunner
01-20-2006, 02:55 PM