Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Is a 66' Fury III...(newbie)

abbott54
03-25-2005, 10:24 PM
I'm looking at a 66' Fury III, 313ci, auto-trans(?), 90k miles, from original owner (a little old lady). There's virtually no rust at all. Interior still has original plastic seat covers. Looks like its in good condition, though I haven't completely checked the engine. Asking price is $1500.
I'm a college student that would like a somewhat reliable car to learn off of and do a little restoration here and there while driving to school. Can anyone tell me a little about breakdown, mileage, parts, reliability, things I should look out for. I know little about Furies and I'm concerned about it being a money-pit. I've been scouring the internet for a week. Is it worth it? Opinions?

John

MagicRat
03-26-2005, 08:17 PM
Jeez......if you don't buy it, I will!!
Collectors search far and wide for the proverbial little-old-lady cars in rust-free original condition.
It sounds as if its a little underpriced, unless it needs lots of work.
Generally these cars are as reliable as dirt. So long as they don't get rusty they'll run almost forever.
If it runs and drives well with no smoke or funny noises it has lots of life left in it. At that mileage, I would pay close attention to the front end - ball joints, tie rod ends etc for wear.

This car would be easy and inexpensive to repair and maintain. It, like most cars of its time is far more simple than a modern car. There are virtually no 'electronics'. All parts and systems are simple and mechanical in nature. Virtually any component's function can be easily understood by the lay person, and with a bit of knowledge and simple tools, easily repaired as well.
(Possibly the only exception is the automatic transmission, but with a bit of maitenance these old transmissions tend to last the life of the vehicle. )