Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Putty Differences

Spitfire7
12-19-2004, 11:25 AM
Hi guys, i'm just ordering the items i will need for my Sierra project. To fill in some of the vents on the bumper, i'll need some putty, although i've never used the stuff before. I'm ordering from Media Mix Hobby, and they have two types of putty available; Tamiya basic putty and Tamiya Epoxy putty.

Based on the picture i've included of what i have to do, can you tell me which of these two types of putty would be suitable for the job, thanks.

http://www2.comco.ne.jp/~garage/seisakuki/sieera-s-02.jpg

http://www2.comco.ne.jp/~garage/seisakuki/sieera-s-03.jpg

freakray
12-19-2004, 11:30 AM
Tamiya epoxy would be better if it's a large area.

mike@af
12-19-2004, 12:48 PM
Epoxy putties are for building, and puttying large areas. These putties do not shrink as much as air dry putties do.

Basic putty is used for filling small pin holes.

If you are going to be doing anything thicker than your thumbnail, use a catalyzed (chemically hardened) putty.

RallyRaider
12-19-2004, 02:36 PM
Epoxy putty would be good for that as would polyester putty. The former comes in two different coloured strips that you knead and mix together. Then you sculpt the shape like clay, normally takes overnight to harden. The polyester comes in two tubes, a large one of the basic putty and a smaller tube of hardener. This type is a bit more liquid and messier than the epoxy but usually dries a lot quicker, 15 minutes or so.

The basic putty mentioned is I believe an air-curing type and no good for filling large areas.

willimo
12-19-2004, 03:20 PM