Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Engine noise w/amp

4th Genster
02-01-2002, 10:23 PM
Hello everyone! I am a newbie and I really enjoy your site. Here's my problem...I just had a Rockford Fosgate amp installed, and it's making funny noise when I press the gas or turn on the lights (it sounds exactly like when you tune to a bad station and can hear your engine in the speakers). Any suggestions? Thanx:)

Swonder67
02-01-2002, 10:25 PM
The RCA's might be running too close to power wires, causing alternator interference.

GSteg
02-02-2002, 02:35 AM
how long is your ground wire? i recommend 2 feet or shorter for better results.

crxlvr
02-02-2002, 08:48 PM
yea, id say check your ground, make it short, and make it touching a clean, unpainted piece of metal.

then make sure your power and RCA's are run on seperate sides of the car.

whitesol
02-03-2002, 04:19 PM
could be 2 things:
1 if your power wires and RCA cables are close to each other that could cause it. if thats the case just reroute one or the other on the other side of the car.
2. bad ground. if need be run the ground all the way back to the negative side of the battery.

ACCORDLVR
02-04-2002, 12:03 AM
since hondas are unibodies they are notorious for picking up that "whinning sound". it's actually called a ground loop. it happens when multiple electronics are connected to the same ground. since hondas are unibodies, the ground becomes just about any bare metal surface in your car. There are ways to reduce the level of whine that you hear to a point that it is inaudible. (you can't hear it)