Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Which car does it all?

MattyG
11-27-2001, 04:27 PM
Hi All,

Im kinda bored at work so I though I'd relate a car discussion I had with my flatmate last night. We were both talkin cars (surprise surprise). We started on 200SX's and how they were pretty quick. I related how I was reading up on car modding and what not on the net, and how cool it would be to try that on a car of my own. Let me say first that I love driving, but I am no expert under the bonnet (Hood?).

Anyway, problem is, although I have next to no experience in the all that kind of high horsepower performance mods seem to me kinda... wel.....budget. Installing custom cold air boxes, boost contrlloers, and whatnot all seems kinda like hard work to me - and most people do it themsleves, sometimes with disastrous results. Seems to me most of the time the engines aren't designed to be taken to high horsepower levels anyway, and if they did, you have a whole new set of headaches....worrying about how much boost you can safely use, what new injectors/components are required (then you got to track them down) what kind of petrol to have etc...sure for some people that would be fun Im probably not one of them.

I Was reading on the net before about these guys driving around in a 300KW GTR. Sounded pretty sweet, until they talked about not being able to get top performance out of the car with normal fuel. Logical I suppose, but it just sounds like added hassle to use custom fuel to me.

Anyway, your vehicle would then become a toy I reckon - which is fine if you have a daily car, but I would wager most people who are trying to do up there import jappers don't have a second car to fall back on should their toy blow up. If I could only afford one car, I would want a car with great grunt that could be used as a daily driver without worrying about the consquences of engine modifications (legal or otherwise) etc....