Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Zero paints 2k clear shelf life

manfras
02-04-2022, 03:51 PM
Hi
Anyone knows if the 6 months shelf life stated on the bottle on the hardener, is really only of 6 months?
I have bought a 100ml clear but I'm a slow builder and it has around 18 months since I first used it (only painted 2 cars, the second one 8 months after first usage) , and I wanted to try on a third car but I'm afraid it might be too old. I sprayed a week ago on some small pieces and it seems ok and cured normally, should I risk it at use it another time (I still have enough for at least 3 our 4 other cars :disappoin ), or should I discard it and buy a new set?

I have kept it tight close and in the shade.

any thoughts appreciated.
Andre

John18d
02-09-2022, 05:16 AM
Hi
Anyone knows if the 6 months shelf life stated on the bottle on the hardener, is really only of 6 months?
I have bought a 100ml clear but I'm a slow builder and it has around 18 months since I first used it (only painted 2 cars, the second one 8 months after first usage) , and I wanted to try on a third car but I'm afraid it might be too old. I sprayed a week ago on some small pieces and it seems ok and cured normally, should I risk it at use it another time (I still have enough for at least 3 our 4 other cars :disappoin ), or should I discard it and buy a new set?

I have kept it tight close and in the shade.

any thoughts appreciated.
Andre

Andre - usually as long as the "catalyst" hardener hasn't got hard and cured in the bottle the hardener should still be good - if the hardener appears a little thicker than normal then "reduce" thin the hardener with a little of the Thinner before you add it to the Polyurethane clear and then add the appropriate thinner hardener and clear as per the mixing ratios.