Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

No title? Can be overcome or end of the world!

austinbridgette359
05-13-2021, 04:33 AM
Recently while searching Facebook marketplace I found a car I was interested in buying. I thought by going with an individual I could get more bang for my buck and also I was paying in cash and most dealerships prefer financing. I have very little experience buying cars, especially out right with cash, but something I had always heard/been told was NEVER buy a car without the title in hand. So I find the car on market place. I love it. I notice the price is rather low for the vehicle, but I just assume it’s someone just trying to get rid of it to possibly buy another car or have maybe already purchased another car. I’m messaging back and forth with this guy about when I can come look at the car, is it still available, blah, blah. He says yes, of course, you can come at such and such time, and also you do know the title is rebuilt on this car. Rebuilt?? The only title question I knew was do you have it in hand, to which he responds no it usually takes 3 weeks to receive the rebuilt title in the mail and it’s only been 2 weeks but I can write you a bill of sale. I tell him I prefer to deal only if he has the title in hand, to which he says, “well I do have the title to the other car that’s on my page.” I look at said car and decide I like that one as well so make arrangements to meet. I get there to where we are supposed to meet and he pulls up in the original, no title yet car, which I fall even more in love with. I ask him if he will hold it for me until the title comes and I would 100% buy the car, but he says the first person with the money in hand gets the car. So i end up looking at the other car to which he had the title in hand. I start asking more about a rebuilt titled car and purchasing a car without the title in hand. He tells me that as long as the bill of sale has both the seller and buyers information, the price paid, mileag