Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

New tires for 94 LeSabre

Rhodesplyr
10-12-2013, 03:12 PM
I need to get new tires on my '94 LeSabre. I've been running Yokohama Avid TRZ 215/60R16 on it for several years and have been very happy with them, but they've been phased out and replaced with the Avid Ascend series.

Anyone tried the Ascends on a Buick? Reviews on them seem mixed, but the reviews for them seem to be better for larger, heavier cars vs. lighter, sportier cars.

Blue Bowtie
10-13-2013, 10:27 PM
Michelins on mine. Great mileage, great winter traction, a little noisy on the highway, but it looks like they're still going to have tread as they approach 60K miles. I'd do them again, too.

enslow
10-14-2013, 01:08 AM
Maybe it's just me and my family, but every Michiln we've had was fantastic for the first 6 months, then would turn into the scariest slipperiest tire. My sister had the exact same experience. We're not aggressive drivers either.

Sent from my GT-P3113 using Tapatalk 4

imidazol97
10-14-2013, 10:59 AM
I would pick Michelin Defender for my replacements. In fact, I will as we get closer to winter be replacing the Harmony Michelins on my 03 leSabre with 95000 miles on them and about 5/32 tread left with Defenders while the $70 rebate on 4 tires is in effect.

The Harmony is being replaced by the Defender and I found the partly worn Harmony tires were very effective on light icing and snow coming home from Michigan a few years ago after they had been on the car a couple of years and worn in. Other cars were sliding off the glazing forming on I75 south of Toledo causing backups. Hours later we were pushing through a couple inches of snow on top and staying in with the best of them. I have not found them to be slippery on water or snow. In fact, they felt better than the X-Ones that had been on my other, older leSabre with the sticky tread compound for icing grip.