Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Become a fan of Igor Sushko on Facebook!
-
Please Register or Login to access: DriverSide DriverSide Home | Service & Repair | Car Prices | Parts & Accessories | Reviews & Advice | My Garage
Google  
Web AF
See Latest Posts
Access AF from your phone - point your mobile browser to http://m.automotiveforums.com
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > McLaren > F1
Closed Thread Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2007, 10:04 PM   #1
psych0hans
AF Regular
 
psych0hans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 138
psych0hans Normal reputation
Can someone please explain this to me?

Ferrari enzo for sale on bay for 5m GBP
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/FERRARI-ENZO-A...QQcmdZViewItem

I know this is the wrong place to put this post, I've made another post in the ferrari section, but I usually check this section out and find the people to be highly knowledgable. Any comments on the above link please?
__________________
"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we." George W. Bush—Washington, D.C., Aug. 5, 2004
psych0hans is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:03 AM   #2
hurstg01
Mad on the Mclaren
 
hurstg01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,602
hurstg01 Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

^^ you are right, wrong section

I'm surprised the listing is still there, normally these silly price listings are pulled by now.......
__________________
hurstg01 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:39 AM   #3
psych0hans
AF Regular
 
psych0hans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 138
psych0hans Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

Like I said, I KNOW this is the wrong section, but this was the only place I ever visit or expected to get an intelligent reply at.
__________________
"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we." George W. Bush—Washington, D.C., Aug. 5, 2004
psych0hans is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 09:56 AM   #4
hurstg01
Mad on the Mclaren
 
hurstg01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,602
hurstg01 Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

If you knew it was in the wrong section, why post it here? Have you had any response from the Ferrari section?

Although you are right, we know a damn lot about cars, not just the F1
__________________
hurstg01 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:08 AM   #5
psych0hans
AF Regular
 
psych0hans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 138
psych0hans Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurstg01
If you knew it was in the wrong section, why post it here? Have you had any response from the Ferrari section?

Although you are right, we know a damn lot about cars, not just the F1
1) No, no responce from the ferrari section.
2) fist U ask a question, then answer it in the same post... hmmm opcorn:
__________________
"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we." George W. Bush—Washington, D.C., Aug. 5, 2004
psych0hans is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:15 AM   #6
ArchangelGTR
AF Regular
 
ArchangelGTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 432
ArchangelGTR Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

Selling on ebay gets maximum exposure for any product.

The concept of selling a car let alone an exotic on ebay is still an interesting concept to me. Several things are probably occuring:
1) the sales people are desperate
2) the sales people dont have enough connections with the rich and famous to have word spread that they have something highly desireable in their stables (which is normally how a car of this caliber is sold)
3) local interest has declined
4) they dont want to pay any other salesperson a finders fee
5) ebay reaches the largest audience, in the shortest amount of time for the least amount (search engines will point back to it). Once it gets on the internet and esp search engines, word spreads like wildfire.. unfortunately, this includes undesireables.

Those on here who have purchased high end cars can probably offer a better explanation esp from their perspective.
ArchangelGTR is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:18 AM   #7
psych0hans
AF Regular
 
psych0hans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 138
psych0hans Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchangelGTR
Selling on ebay gets maximum exposure for any product.

The concept of selling a car let alone an exotic on ebay is still an interesting concept to me. Several things are probably occuring:
1) the sales people are desperate
2) the sales people dont have enough connections with the rich and famous to have word spread that they have something highly desireable in their stables (which is normally how a car of this caliber is sold)
3) local interest has declined
4) they dont want to pay any other salesperson a finders fee
5) ebay reaches the largest audience, in the shortest amount of time for the least amount (search engines will point back to it). Once it gets on the internet and esp search engines, word spreads like wildfire.. unfortunately, this includes undesireables.

Those on here who have purchased high end cars can probably offer a better explanation esp from their perspective.
Sorry, maybe I should have provided more detail in my post, but my question wasnt really about why it was posted on ebay, I've seen several exotics listed on here. My question was the astronomical bidding price of 4-5m pounds on a car worth roighly1/8th of that much.
__________________
"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we." George W. Bush—Washington, D.C., Aug. 5, 2004
psych0hans is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:43 AM   #8
ArchangelGTR
AF Regular
 
ArchangelGTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 432
ArchangelGTR Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

Simple answer: False bidders...

Usually from people who get excitement out of proclaiming that they bid on an exotic car with absolutely no expectations of fulfilling their obligations. They feel that the internet gives them a sense of anonymity and an ebay contract is not legally binding. Many make false user names to drive up either their own product or another's. In this case it is used to proclaim that they are bidding on an exotic.
ArchangelGTR is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 12:36 PM   #9
hurstg01
Mad on the Mclaren
 
hurstg01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,602
hurstg01 Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by psych0hans
2) fist U ask a question, then answer it in the same post... hmmm opcorn:
Because we know alot about cars, but post about them in the correct forum / website I.e. For Ferrari posts / info I go to the Ferrarichat website, TVR's etc to Pistonheads, Top end Porsches to PureGt, BMW's to M5world / E46fanatics, and so on

But still here for all things F1
__________________
hurstg01 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 09:27 PM   #10
F1 monster
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,138
F1 monster Normal reputation
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?

What forums should one go to for cheeky bum sex?
F1 monster is offline  
 
 
 
 
Closed Thread

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > McLaren > F1

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.

Google  
Web AF
Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
no new posts