Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Visit IgorSushko.com and see what it's like racing in Japan
-
Google  
Web AF
See Latest Posts
Access AF from your phone - point your mobile browser to http://m.automotiveforums.com
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Camaro > F-Bodies (Camaro and Firebird) > Camaro Discussions
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2004, 02:13 PM   #1
DiabloGT
Banned
 
DiabloGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: kingston, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,094
DiabloGT 0
Is This Fake!?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...475315670&rd=1
do you think this is for real or fake?
DiabloGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 02:20 PM   #2
ridge_runner
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leonardtown, Maryland
Posts: 3,895
ridge_runner 0
Send a message via AIM to ridge_runner Send a message via MSN to ridge_runner
Re: Is This Fake!?

i wouldnt waste your time on those
ridge_runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 03:02 PM   #3
4onFloor
AF Enthusiast
 
4onFloor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Radnor, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,051
4onFloor Normal reputation
since he's not telling the buyer exactly what he's using to fool the ecm, it's either a pretty good idea that he doesn't want someone to steal, or it's rip off. like the old say if it sounds too good to be true then it probly is
__________________
4onFloor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 03:31 PM   #4
94Camaro3.4
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 103
94Camaro3.4 Normal reputation
Send a message via AIM to 94Camaro3.4
Re: Is This Fake!?

For a few dollars, anyone wanna try it and write back???
94Camaro3.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 03:48 PM   #5
ridge_runner
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leonardtown, Maryland
Posts: 3,895
ridge_runner 0
Send a message via AIM to ridge_runner Send a message via MSN to ridge_runner
Re: Is This Fake!?

already have, but in a bronco, made it slower in the 1/4 mile, its just some diode that looks like it came from a computer
ridge_runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 03:50 PM   #6
ridge_runner
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leonardtown, Maryland
Posts: 3,895
ridge_runner 0
Send a message via AIM to ridge_runner Send a message via MSN to ridge_runner
Re: Is This Fake!?

ran a 16.4 and 16.6 a few times with it in, took it off and ran a 16.2
ridge_runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 03:53 PM   #7
Joseph1082
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lindenhurst, New York
Posts: 1,393
Joseph1082 0
Send a message via AIM to Joseph1082
Re: Is This Fake!?

For that price, how can it do anything?
Joseph1082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 03:54 PM   #8
4onFloor
AF Enthusiast
 
4onFloor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Radnor, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,051
4onFloor Normal reputation
probly just just a resistor than that drops that value of the signal coming back from the mass airflow making the ecm think there's more airflow than there actually is, in turn advancing timing and changing the pulse width. i dont know just guessing. its probly $1.50 resistor from radio shack
__________________
4onFloor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 03:57 PM   #9
ridge_runner
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leonardtown, Maryland
Posts: 3,895
ridge_runner 0
Send a message via AIM to ridge_runner Send a message via MSN to ridge_runner
Re: Is This Fake!?

yea 4 thats exactly what it is, they play it off like it was made for your car when its not
ridge_runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 12:30 AM   #10
96CamaroSS
AF Regular
 
96CamaroSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Posts: 241
96CamaroSS Normal reputation
Re: Re: Is This Fake!?

SLP sells the same thing for $24.95, but it's from SLP and I trust them a little bit more than someone on eBay. They have them for both v6 and v8.


V8 http://www.slponline.com/view_produc...RTNUMBER=63010

V6
http://www.slponline.com/view_produc...RTNUMBER=63012
96CamaroSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 01:12 PM   #11
4onFloor
AF Enthusiast
 
4onFloor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Radnor, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,051
4onFloor Normal reputation
well i was close, istead of maf it's the IAT. except this one said 5-7hp gain possible. i'd say that guy on ebay is ripping people off. he's saying up to 20hp gain possible, key words being "up to". so if ya gain 1hp then technically it worked
4onFloor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 11:30 AM   #12
Deadcarny
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beaufort, South Carolina
Posts: 465
Deadcarny Normal reputation
Re: Is This Fake!?

waste of money. I bouhgt one of the SLP ones for my 2000 Monte Carlo SS a few years ago and it was a waste.
__________________
1995 Camaro Z28, 383ci 485+hp 495ft-lbs SOLD!!!
1965 Ford F100
1967 Chevrolet Impala (Sold)
1972 Chevrolet Chevelle (Sold)
1972 BMW R60/5
1980 Harley Davidson FLH
1992 Astro EXT AWD
1992 Chevrolet Cavalier
2000 Monte Carlo SS Pace Car 1087/3222 (Sold)
2002 Trailblazer LTZ (Sold)
South Carolina F and Y Bodies
www.SCFYB.com
Deadcarny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 10:36 PM   #13
Chevyracincamaro
AF Fanatic
 
Chevyracincamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: fredericksburg, Virginia
Posts: 3,262
Chevyracincamaro Normal reputation
Re: Is This Fake!?

is that one of those things thats like the venom chip? it just fools the comp of the throttle position. dont waste the money and get the same result by pressing down on the pedal further...
Chevyracincamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Camaro > F-Bodies (Camaro and Firebird) > Camaro Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.

Google  
Web AF
Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
no new posts