Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Avalanche | C&K | Silverado | Suburban | Tahoe > Suburban
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 06-17-2007, 07:10 AM   #1
military_deployed
AF Newbie

Reduced engine power in 2003 Suburban

I am a Captain deployed to Baghdad, Iraq and need help determining the problem with my suburban, which we use to convoy personnel throughout the Baghdad region. I am by no means a truck expert, and the repair process over here is dreadful...help me!

Our 2003 suburban often gets a "reduced engine power" displayed by the computer and the RPMs drop to below 1,000. The vehicle will not accelerate and will not go above 1,200 RPMs no matter how much gas it is getting. Flooring the gas pedal has absolutely no effect and the truck continues on its merry way at about 20 miles per hour.

I have been told by various amateurs that it is the gas lines or electronics that regulate the gas flow. The reduction in engine power seems to happen randomly, but most often if the vehicle is idling for too long (and I'm sure the 110 degree heat doesn't help). I can get it fixed much quicker if I know what the problem may be. Any ideas?

Thank you
Capt Bill
military_deployed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 09:20 AM   #2
MT-2500
AF - Advisor

Re: Reduced engine power in 2003 Suburban

Welcome to AF

Does it have a electronic gas linkage or gas pedal?
That would be my first check on it.

And Always a good idea to check fuel filter?

If electronic gas pedal you will need a engine capable scanner to test it.
But have a look at the wiring and wiring plug in on it.