Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Toyota > Tercel
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 02-13-2002, 09:58 AM   #1
daylightstar
AF Newbie

Send a message via AIM to daylightstar
engine swaps

I am looking to do an engine swap with a 1994 toyota tercel. I was thinking on using the 4e-gte starlet jdm import engine. Does anyone know anything about this?
daylightstar80@yahoo.com
daylightstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 04:00 PM   #2
Big Juice
AF Newbie

Well, I'm NOT A MECHANIC or anything, but from what I've heard this is a pretty painless conversion. I actually own an EP 82... a Jap spec starlet (I live in jamaica) BTW, the engine type is 4E-FTE not GTE. Try getting a complete engine (and turbo if U don't plan on upgrading) complete engine, wire harness, and ECU if applicable get some rear disks that will fit, cause ya gotta stop if you can go! The 4E block should be an easy fit in your engine bay.
ISSUES
Or at least the ones that come to mind for me would be:
1. Driver conversion (If this applies to You) for a right to a left hand drive... remember this is a JDM so the steering, and thus the wiring is meant to be on the right.
2. The intercooler is top mounted on the starlet (a big mistake in my opinion). So either modding your bonnet or getting some custom pipes done to front mount it will be in order.
3. BTW, a boost guage and air/fuel guage are a must for this conversion. You will need to keep monitoring the boost level and air/fuel mixture while driving.
From there the conversion itself should be a breeze:sun: