Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Closed Thread Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2004, 02:20 AM   #1
mustange kiler
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
racing with a automatic?

hey im wondering if u can still race with a automatic?
mustange kiler is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 01:16 PM   #2
emerge
AF Enthusiast
 
emerge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: athens, Georgia
Posts: 924
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to emerge Send a message via Yahoo to emerge
Re: racing with a automatic?

No. Automatics come with "racing prohibitors" in the ECU. The car detects that you're racing and shuts off the fuel supply. It's a new safety feature from Honda.
__________________
Stephen Gladney
Original PH Member


EJ8 Civic | AIM: nxzo | www.rtek.org
emerge is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 05:13 PM   #3
Beastiek2
Banned
 
Beastiek2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Queens/LI, New York
Posts: 1,401
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Beastiek2 Send a message via MSN to Beastiek2
Re: Re: racing with a automatic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerge
No. Automatics come with "racing prohibitors" in the ECU. The car detects that you're racing and shuts off the fuel supply. It's a new safety feature from Honda.
too funny !!
Beastiek2 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 10:00 PM   #4
emerge
AF Enthusiast
 
emerge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: athens, Georgia
Posts: 924
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to emerge Send a message via Yahoo to emerge
Re: racing with a automatic?

Why the hell is this in Exterior anyways?
__________________
Stephen Gladney
Original PH Member


EJ8 Civic | AIM: nxzo | www.rtek.org
emerge is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 04:16 PM   #5
kcap122
AF Enthusiast
 
kcap122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: montvale, New Jersey
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Re: racing with a automatic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerge
No. Automatics come with "racing prohibitors" in the ECU. The car detects that you're racing and shuts off the fuel supply. It's a new safety feature from Honda.

wait are you serious? thats insannnnne
kcap122 is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 08:47 PM   #6
SilverY2KCivic
Cali Guy
 
SilverY2KCivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 626/SGV So. Cali, California
Posts: 5,737
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to SilverY2KCivic Send a message via AIM to SilverY2KCivic Send a message via Yahoo to SilverY2KCivic
Re: Re: racing with a automatic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerge
No. Automatics come with "racing prohibitors" in the ECU. The car detects that you're racing and shuts off the fuel supply. It's a new safety feature from Honda.
Damn, no wonder why my "attempted racing detected" light keeps blinding me from the dash, and here I thought maybe I just had some bad gas or something... Any way to disable this feature from the ECU short of busting a cap in it?
__________________
Silver '00 Civic EJ6 Coupe
PureHonda original member since Feb. 2000
D-series revolution For pics of my baby, click here!
All rights reserved... All BITERS served!

"The last time you had THIS much fun driving a car, it cost a quarter, and gyrated in front of the supermarket."

i have yet to see any well done imports around here. most are road toilets driven by some high school punk -Drift

hessemer69 on AIM
SilverY2KCivic is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 11:05 PM   #7
emerge
AF Enthusiast
 
emerge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: athens, Georgia
Posts: 924
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to emerge Send a message via Yahoo to emerge
Re: racing with a automatic?

You can disconnect it by switching your battery terminals...
__________________
Stephen Gladney
Original PH Member


EJ8 Civic | AIM: nxzo | www.rtek.org
emerge is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 04:04 PM   #8
92'SiHatchBack
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fall River, Wisconsin
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to 92'SiHatchBack
Re: racing with a automatic?

thats funny
__________________
I get asked why i drive a honda and i say...... Cause its faster than yours
92'SiHatchBack is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 05:09 PM   #9
SilverY2KCivic
Cali Guy
 
SilverY2KCivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 626/SGV So. Cali, California
Posts: 5,737
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to SilverY2KCivic Send a message via AIM to SilverY2KCivic Send a message via Yahoo to SilverY2KCivic
Re: Re: racing with a automatic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerge
You can disconnect it by switching your battery terminals...
Oh snap, it's always the easiest things. Thanks Emerge!

FREE mod everyone, LMAO!
__________________
Silver '00 Civic EJ6 Coupe
PureHonda original member since Feb. 2000
D-series revolution For pics of my baby, click here!
All rights reserved... All BITERS served!

"The last time you had THIS much fun driving a car, it cost a quarter, and gyrated in front of the supermarket."

i have yet to see any well done imports around here. most are road toilets driven by some high school punk -Drift

hessemer69 on AIM
SilverY2KCivic is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 09:08 PM   #10
1gspot
AF Enthusiast
 
1gspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hilliard (near columbus), Ohio
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to 1gspot
Re: racing with a automatic?

wow not one post answered his question...Yes you can in the sense that u can try to get somewhere faster then something else...Just not very quickly. In my experience with my friends automatic the fastest way to go is to off the line have it in 1st then hold the brake it and rev to like 3k then when the light goes, drop off the brake as quickly as u can without ur tires spinning too much then shift up right before u redline, its still slow but prolly the quickest way u can go in an auto
1gspot is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 09:25 PM   #11
kcap122
AF Enthusiast
 
kcap122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: montvale, New Jersey
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: racing with a automatic?

jeez thats not a good idea. the automatic d1 and d2 are not meant to be shifted. i think there was another thread on this already, the gears are designed to give you torque in the snow and stuff, not for launches.
__________________
'05 Mazda3, 2.3L 4dr.
Xenons, sunroof, 17s, sport package, 6cd changer, STICK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 91300zxtt
CLEARCHANNEL rules!!!!!!!, the concert hall i work for is owned by them.
kcap122 is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 09:02 PM   #12
SilverY2KCivic
Cali Guy
 
SilverY2KCivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 626/SGV So. Cali, California
Posts: 5,737
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to SilverY2KCivic Send a message via AIM to SilverY2KCivic Send a message via Yahoo to SilverY2KCivic
Re: Re: racing with a automatic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcap122
jeez thats not a good idea. the automatic d1 and d2 are not meant to be shifted. i think there was another thread on this already, the gears are designed to give you torque in the snow and stuff, not for launches.
In a 6th gen Civic, you launch using D3, then when it hits 2nd, you put it in "2" and hold it till redline, then put it back into D3. The 6th gen auto Civic tranny doesn't have a "1" to shift into. "2" will start out the car in 2nd from a stop for added torque like kcap122 was refering to. But you wouldn't want to use it for a luanch as it'll bog you WAY down.

Autos are notably quicker off the line (but not nessacerily in general)than manual simply because you just gas it and go. No clutch to putz around with, and no shifter to have to move around. Just floor it and go.

If you want a faster auto, then invest in an aftermarket torque converter like the ones that ArtCarr sells, or Level10 or TCI has as well.
__________________
Silver '00 Civic EJ6 Coupe
PureHonda original member since Feb. 2000
D-series revolution For pics of my baby, click here!
All rights reserved... All BITERS served!

"The last time you had THIS much fun driving a car, it cost a quarter, and gyrated in front of the supermarket."

i have yet to see any well done imports around here. most are road toilets driven by some high school punk -Drift

hessemer69 on AIM
SilverY2KCivic is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 09:54 PM   #13
kicker1_solo
AF Fanatic
 
kicker1_solo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Posts: 15,780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to kicker1_solo Send a message via Yahoo to kicker1_solo
Re: Re: racing with a automatic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1gspot
wow not one post answered his question...Yes you can in the sense that u can try to get somewhere faster then something else...Just not very quickly. In my experience with my friends automatic the fastest way to go is to off the line have it in 1st then hold the brake it and rev to like 3k then when the light goes, drop off the brake as quickly as u can without ur tires spinning too much then shift up right before u redline, its still slow but prolly the quickest way u can go in an auto
Are you saying that autos are slow? I know many autos that would toast whatever you're running. And what you told him to do isn't such a bright idea.
__________________
2000 BMW 323IT
1954 Ford F100
With every post my penis grows smaller

Yakima Valley Truck Club Yakima Washington
kicker1_solo is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 10:34 PM   #14
1gspot
AF Enthusiast
 
1gspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hilliard (near columbus), Ohio
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to 1gspot
Re: racing with a automatic?

hell no im not saying autos are slow some race designed automatics own all. But when u talking about getting off the line quick a stock auto tranny is gunna get beat
1gspot is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 01:25 AM   #15
kicker1_solo
AF Fanatic
 
kicker1_solo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Posts: 15,780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to kicker1_solo Send a message via Yahoo to kicker1_solo
Of course a stock auto, a stock anything off the line is going to get beat. Using your money wisely on whatever you have, stick or auto, will win you races.
__________________
2000 BMW 323IT
1954 Ford F100
With every post my penis grows smaller

Yakima Valley Truck Club Yakima Washington
kicker1_solo is offline  
 
Closed Thread

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts