Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Mitsubishi > Eclipse/Talon/Laser > Off-Topic
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Off-Topic Talk about anything other than cars.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 05-01-2004, 08:45 PM   #1
92lx
AF Enthusiast

long rod engines

Hey guys,

I'm just about to begin the build up of a 420A.... anyhow, putting aside the 4g63 argument, I have some questions about stroker and long rod engines.

I am completely new to the idea of using a long rod or stroker motor. I know for the stroker that the cylinder is going to need to be bored out a bit, and that all the kit contents will need to be installed. But how reliable are stroker motors, and how much reworking of the fuel/timing curve am I going to need to do?

Also, with long rod motors, it seems that they do not need machining, but instead they use specialized pistons? to accomodate for the longer rods. Anyhow, what's the deal with these, are they any less reliable, are there problems with cam timing. I haven't read extensively yet, but it seems that they simply hold the piston at TDC longer to create more power......could this cause trouble with valve timing?

Interesting questions, if anyone has a good "general info" link on stroker/long rod engines, that'd be wonderful.

This engine, btw, is going to be turbocharged and running an extremely modified head (cams, springs, oversized valves, the works).

- Nathan
92lx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2004, 08:27 AM   #2
EclipseRST
Banned

Send a message via AIM to EclipseRST Send a message via MSN to EclipseRST Send a message via Yahoo to EclipseRST