Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > General Discussion
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 06-04-2010, 07:28 AM   #1
inforcer958
AF Newbie

Unhappy Chevy 350 Jerks/Sputters PLZ HELP!

Hey guys i need some help i am absolutely stumped.

Ok i have a 1985 Chevy El Camino, I swapped a chevy 350 into it replacing the old 305. It does not run a computer. The Engine has an Edelbrock Intake and Carb (600CFM) and runs an HEI with a vacuum adv (with the hose on the throttle side of the vacuum port)

I have been running this setup for over 3 years and have never had a problem like this before.

Basically, the car starts just fine, goes in reverse no sounds no problems, goes in drive no sounds no problems. Lately it has been roughly 62 deg in the morning where i live. Now when i take it to work the car seems to drive fine. But around 45mph if you are accelerating decently. (In passing gear I believe its called) the car will jerk violently. The RPM's will go from normal to almost -1,000rpm. And if i keep my foot in the exact spot when it starts it wont stop. Then i let off, and try accelerating again. Sometimes it will do it again. Sometimes not. After i give it a decent drive... 15 min - if i shut it off or not. the problem seems to go away.

If i really give the car the foot it gets on it, shifts like normal, races through all the gears...

I have read through the forums and by listening to others problems i have checked through the list.

I have new:

Plugs
Wires
Dist cap + Rotor
new air filter
Have a new pump to carb hard line and -6AN fuel filter, with a fuel pressure guage inline.

Also have checked for: