Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical > Tires and Wheels
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 12-26-2006, 01:46 AM   #1
Millermagic
AF Regular

LT Tires on a Car

I'm looking for new tires for my 01 Taurus. I absolutely do not like these bald touring tires that come up when I put in 215 60 16. I started playing around with different tire sizes - particularly 215 65 16 and got http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires....e1=yes&place=9

I like those tires because they are fairly cheap, have nice tread and should last longer than a tire with softer compound.

I wasn't getting the best response to that idea on other message boards, but I don't really see how those tires are that bad for my car... they won't hydroplane because of the tread, they won't wear out as quick (especially after I get the alignment) and they really aren't too heavy duty for the car because I carry around 500 pounds of junk around with me.

- Leather - Transmission Cooler - Gen III Tweeter Sails - Gen III Rocker Covers -

As you walk through the valley of RICE, you shall fear NO V-TEC, for torque is with thee!

Millermagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 07:45 AM   #2
CapriRacer
AF Enthusiast

Re: LT Tires on a Car

You have to admit this is an unusual direction to take. So let's examine it:

The size you chose is bigger in diameter and the question is will it fit in the fenderwells. There may seem to be a lot of room, but the worst condition is fully turned and fully compressed, so we won't know until they go on and you drive around for a while.