Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Contour
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2006, 12:11 PM   #1
meintool
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mega Fuse Where?

i have a fealing its the mega fuse because thats the only thing i havent checked because i dont know where it is or what it looks like i checked all the fuses in the passenger compartment and under the hood in the fuse box none are blown
meintool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 12:49 PM   #2
meintool
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

nevermind i found the mega fuse and removed it when i shake it sounds like loose metal..how do i go about testing this fuse out of the car Ohms? if so what readings should i get
meintool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 12:59 PM   #3
meintool
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

OMG i said screw it called ford to see if they had one and it was cheap so i busted this one open and come to find out it is deffinatly blown split right in the middle now i know why i bought a $120 alternator and a $70 battery all over a god damn 7$ FUSE

Last edited by meintool; 08-30-2006 at 02:18 PM.
meintool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 07:30 AM   #4
zblu81
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

What year is your contour and where did you find this "mega fuse"?
zblu81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 08:02 AM   #5
beyondloadedSE
AF Ford Contour-Advisor
 
beyondloadedSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zblu81
What year is your contour and where did you find this "mega fuse"?
I4
http://www.contour.org/ubbthreads/sh...ue#Post1311779

V6
http://www.contour.org/ubbthreads/sh...ue#Post1097673
__________________

"The CEG Nazi"
www.contour.org
1996 Ford Contour SE - Sold
3.0L V6 and Arizona Dyno Chip Turbo Kit
364 whp, 410 wtq @ 16 psi and only 4,700 rpms.
1999 Tropic Green SVT Contour - Bone stock and MINT
beyondloadedSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 10:24 AM   #6
zblu81
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

Thanks for the reply but after doing some reading I don't think this is what I need. I'm looking for a main fuse or relay.
I installed a remote starter yesteday and it worked fine the first few times i tried it. Then I think I blew a fuse or relay by accidently grounding a hot wire from the remote start unit that i wasn't going to hook up. Now I ahve no power at the Ignition or Headlight switches. (no accesories, or vent/blower with the key on, no engine cranking,) Is there a relay that runs all of these or am I looking for more than one?
zblu81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:41 PM   #7
beyondloadedSE
AF Ford Contour-Advisor
 
beyondloadedSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zblu81
Thanks for the reply but after doing some reading I don't think this is what I need. I'm looking for a main fuse or relay.
I installed a remote starter yesteday and it worked fine the first few times i tried it. Then I think I blew a fuse or relay by accidently grounding a hot wire from the remote start unit that i wasn't going to hook up. Now I ahve no power at the Ignition or Headlight switches. (no accesories, or vent/blower with the key on, no engine cranking,) Is there a relay that runs all of these or am I looking for more than one?
do you have an owners manual that gives the locations of all the relays/fuses and what they protect? Id start there.
__________________

"The CEG Nazi"
www.contour.org
1996 Ford Contour SE - Sold
3.0L V6 and Arizona Dyno Chip Turbo Kit
364 whp, 410 wtq @ 16 psi and only 4,700 rpms.
1999 Tropic Green SVT Contour - Bone stock and MINT
beyondloadedSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:52 PM   #8
zblu81
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

I wish i had that. I may just bite the bullet this time and have it towed. We've got bad weather moving in and I don't want to walk to work tomorrow.
zblu81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 02:14 PM   #9
beyondloadedSE
AF Ford Contour-Advisor
 
beyondloadedSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

Ok, I went out and pulled my manual out of my car. Heres the ones that I would take a look at. Chances are, if you have a blown fuse or relay, youve got an exposed wire somewhere. Im sure cutting in the harness for your remote start is probably related.

Anyways, from the fusebox underneath the hood:

Relay 1: Main Power Supply
Fuse 4: Daytime Running Lights/Ignition (I would guess this one)
Fuse 10: Ignition Switch

From the fusebox underneath the drivers side footwell:
Relay 16: Ignition
__________________

"The CEG Nazi"
www.contour.org
1996 Ford Contour SE - Sold
3.0L V6 and Arizona Dyno Chip Turbo Kit
364 whp, 410 wtq @ 16 psi and only 4,700 rpms.
1999 Tropic Green SVT Contour - Bone stock and MINT
beyondloadedSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 03:26 PM   #10
zblu81
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

fuse10 was blown, I didn't check either of the relays. I will re-wire everything tonight and make sure it's right before replacing the fuse.
Thanks a ton for all the help!
zblu81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 03:28 PM   #11
zblu81
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

i'm also curious if you have a 1/4 mi. time slip for your contour.
zblu81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:22 PM   #12
montoe
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Mega Fuse Where?

5/23/13 I just replaced the mega fuse on my 2.5 , 99 ford contour although it took me awhile to find it I finally did.. it is located under the hood just behind the coil pack next to fire wall .. on under side of black plastic casing.. there's a cover over the mega fuse can just be uncliped by hand.. removing the 4 bolts that secure coil pack to move will make just enough space..
montoe is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Contour

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts