Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Geo > Tracker
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2005, 05:27 PM   #31
94twacker
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Olean, New York
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

tested the ignition control module and the coil at work today, I couldnt get either one to test bad. I just drove it for 10 miles around the city TRYING to get it to do it and it could only do it once, its so intermittent now, it could be fine for 20 minutes then do it 10 times in 5 minutes, I just dont know anymore I am so fed up with this thing....
94twacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 08:25 PM   #32
coopdavillage
AF Regular
 
coopdavillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lake Stevens, Washington
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

have you tried the computer?
coopdavillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 01:08 AM   #33
geofrog
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: murray, Kentucky
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to geofrog Send a message via Yahoo to geofrog
Hi, I have a 94' however, i own the tbi model. I have in the past had the light come on for the EGR valve, took it off, cleaned it out good with carb cleaner, and along with the run that comes to the egr vavle, started the engine with the valve off, so that the engine will push the carbon out of the valve, it will rev load and high, just shut it down before it redlines. Put everything back together, and it last for about a year before having to do it again. To clear the light, it doesn't do any good to disconnect the battery, there is a switch underneath the dash board, remove the panel under the stearing wheel. Mine is to the left of the stearing colum. Flip the switch, and it will turn that light off. that will clear the code.

Hope this helps, i know when my egr valve is acting up, i lose power between 2000 and 3000 rpm, and it idles really slow, almost as if it is chocking. It is now starting to buck, but once i get past 3000 rpms it goes away, but i think i just need to clean the egr vavle again.

I hope this information help
Kris
geofrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 07:22 PM   #34
94twacker
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Olean, New York
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
we have now replaced the pick-up coil as well, as told by a mechanic that looked at it, STILL no luck, just dont know what to do anymore....running out of money to waste.
94twacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 07:36 PM   #35
coopdavillage
AF Regular
 
coopdavillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lake Stevens, Washington
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

just a suggestion but have you checked the drivetrain like the rear axle i just read the other day that they have problems cracking on the 94 maybe thats it
coopdavillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 04:42 PM   #36
94twacker
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Olean, New York
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

no you can definately tell its cutting out and losing spark, its rpm related, you can watch the tach jump around, and it doesnt do it all the time.
94twacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 05:26 PM   #37
coopdavillage
AF Regular
 
coopdavillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lake Stevens, Washington
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

ok have you tried the exhaust system? i have had a car that did something similar to that before and it was because the cat was clogged. worth a try
coopdavillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 11:31 PM   #38
geofrog
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: murray, Kentucky
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to geofrog Send a message via Yahoo to geofrog
Re: Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by coopdavillage
just a suggestion but have you checked the drivetrain like the rear axle i just read the other day that they have problems cracking on the 94 maybe thats it
I had teh same problem with my fiero, turned out to be a short between the battery and the started, that may not be the same short in your case, but maybee you need to check for an electrical short?
geofrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 09:30 PM   #39
94twacker
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Olean, New York
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

Well the car has now been to two mechanics, the last one specializes in electric, and still NO idea. I am just begging and crying out for help at this point, anything at all would be great. Thanks for all of the suggestions so far, Im sorry that none of them have worked!!
94twacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 10:45 PM   #40
dgee
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: west babylon
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

what about cleaning the terminals and grounds again try adding an extra ground from motor to body. also it could be plugs i know you changed them but my friend had a pickup truck he changed plugs still had the shakes in the motor.took it to a shop they put it on the scope and it showed a couple of plugs were no good under load changed them and truck lost the shakes. just remember he had a v 8 thats 4 extra cylinder it just takes one bad plug on a four cylinder to make it run bad. also can you take off the hood and drive it till you get to 2500 rpm and see if you can see any arcing on the motor from the wires or the coil. .probably does sound like a good idea but you have done everthing else.

Last edited by dgee; 10-19-2005 at 01:24 AM.
dgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 12:52 PM   #41
94twacker
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Olean, New York
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

well you see it did it before I changed the plugs, and then the same afterwards, so I dont think that is it.
94twacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 07:59 PM   #42
coopdavillage
AF Regular
 
coopdavillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lake Stevens, Washington
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

who have you taken the car to?
coopdavillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 10:27 PM   #43
dgee
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: west babylon
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

do you have any oil leaks that could be getiing on the clutch causing the clutch to slip.and is there enough free play in the clutch pedal so that it is not engaged to disengage the presure plate.
dgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 10:35 PM   #44
94twacker
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Olean, New York
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

the clutch pedal feels fine, there are no oil leaks,it just burns a little bit. I have taken it to a garage that we have taken our cars to for years, and then we took it to a garage in town that specializes in electric, no luck at all.
94twacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 11:38 PM   #45
dgee
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: west babylon
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: having problems with 94 Geo Tracker.....

you know it could be the ecm the computer. that controls everything my car blew the ign coil fuse .i replaced it blew again . replaced it two more time got car home. played with the torque converter relay it did not help the car would run then while driving engine shut off. turn on shut off.for about a second. put relay back on then check speed sensor. but this shows you how much of a pain in the ass the computer is.
dgee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Geo > Tracker

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts