Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-16-2004, 09:27 AM   #1
117000miles
AF Newbie

Exclamation Trying to Avoid Being Ripped Off

Hello. As you can see from my post count, I am a newbie. I hope there's someone here who may be able to help me. Here's the deal. I have a 1996 Hyundai Elantra with about 117,000 miles on it (hence my screen name). Of late I've noticed an awful sulphur stench, like rotten eggs and the check engine light is on. A few years back, the Elantra for my year was recalled due to exhaust problems and the dealership pretty much had to replace the whole system. (I think?)

Anyway, I took my car to a mechanic who ran a diagnostic. He told me that the problem could be solved in one of two ways. He said I should first try the least expensive way ($400) and replace the dioxide sensors. If that didn't work, however, he said I'd need a new catalytic converter which would run me an additional $1,000. The wrinkle is that my state requires an emissions check prior to renewing your car registration. My birthday is early next month and I don't have a whole lot of time or money for that matter. Obviously, I can't pass the test with a "check engine" light illuminated.