Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Volkswagen > GTI
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 02-27-2006, 07:34 PM   #1
wagsGTI
AF Newbie

Exclamation Cheap Horsepower

Hello,
I have a 96 GTI VR6 with 60000 miles on it. I custom made my intake and I did a frickin good job. But anyway I was just wounderin if anyone had any advice on the cheapest form of horsepower? Im thinkin maybe an exhaust by Pacesetter Monza and some chips but I need some advice b/c Im not that experienced in VW's? Advice would be helpful!!!!
wagsGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 09:19 PM   #2
FahQ
AF Newbie

Re: Cheap Horsepower

The VR is an awesome platform to begin modding

~A nice catback exhaust would help the breathing now that you have the intake, and should cost roughly $500. If you can - increase the piping about 1/4" and get a hi-flow cat - this will bump the cost about $200
~You should also increase "fire" to go with that extra boost of fresh oxygen
A performance tune-up or even an MSD ignition, can remedy this and also cost roughly $300-$600 depending on what you get.
~Timing is crucial and can be bumped up a bit by adding a mild degree camshaft, adjustable cam sprockets and an underdrive pulley kit. This is a bit more expensive but awesome gains throughout the revs. Guesstimate this at about $1000
~It doesn't increase HP and TQ, but a shortshift kit will get you through the gears faster - which means you get to peak RPM ranges faster.

Chipping it would be good but I personally would "build" the motor before chipping...less chance of having to keep reprogramming it.