Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Toronado Trofeo
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2014, 10:08 PM   #1
Wolfie_85
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Askme, Iowa
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cluster Issue

I have a 1988 Trofeo and the instrument cluster is not working. I have had to replace the CPS before, but this seems different. The Twilight Sentinel and climate control is working fine, along with interior lights (except the dash). When the CPS was bad, these didn't work. What could it be? The cluster and dash lights work sometimes, but everything else is consistent! Also, the chime continues after you close the door as well. It didn't used to do that, either.

I swear this thing is possessed.
Wolfie_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 08:30 AM   #2
maxwedge
A990 racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chestertown, New York
Posts: 16,507
Thanks: 13
Thanked 315 Times in 309 Posts
Re: Cluster Issue

The digital clusters failed in the first 3 years when I worked for Oldsmobile, very common, poor internal connections and soldered terminals.
__________________
maxwedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 11:48 AM   #3
Wolfie_85
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Askme, Iowa
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Cluster Issue

But the hell of it is that I know it works. Unless the CPS is to blame again, but still somehow lets everything but the dash lights and cluster work. Can the cluster cause the dash lights not to work? I checked fuses, even checked the photo sensor for the Twilight Sentinel. All that is working fine.
Wolfie_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:37 PM   #4
maxwedge
A990 racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chestertown, New York
Posts: 16,507
Thanks: 13
Thanked 315 Times in 309 Posts
Re: Cluster Issue

Try and get a wiring diagram for the dash and check the circuits.
__________________
maxwedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 04:27 PM   #5
Wolfie_85
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Askme, Iowa
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Cluster Issue

Ok, so I now know it's not the CPS. This makes me question whether or not the cluster is just working when it feels like it. Short of the display itself, I'm not sure what else it is. I am hoping it's not the display, but I want to eliminate other issues. I shall tinker more. Any suggestions are welcome. And yes, I will consult a diagram, now that I know it's going to be harder to track down.
Wolfie_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 04:54 PM   #6
Wolfie_85
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Askme, Iowa
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Cluster Issue

I think I got it working. Oddly enough, I took the cluster out, replaced it with a used one I found, and learned the one I picked up had an issue where the tach displays. I put the old one back in and it worked. I have no idea.

Now it says "lighting issue". Seriously. Why? I don't see an issue!
Wolfie_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Toronado Trofeo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts