Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 03-28-2017, 10:37 AM   #1
Mikekom
AF Newbie

1970 GMC New Look Transit Bus Modification

Hi. I am a newbie looking for some information and on which forum topic to ask this question. I hope this may be of some interest to someone out there and can point me in the right direction.
I bought a 1970 GMC New Look Transit Bus at an auction at a heck of a price. The engine has been rebuilt and I want to refurbish it as a food truck.
I wish to use the engine as my generator, it is a Allison 6V71 238HP?
Is it my correct understanding that I would need to put in a more robust alternator and this should be able to give me the power that I need? I am looking for generator power in the 10,000 to 12,000 W range.
I have experience in food trucks, but not so much in Detroit Diesel engines.
I would be very much grateful for any information that someone might give me.
Thank you for your time.
Regards,
Mike
Mikekom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 07:08 AM   #2
shorod
SHO No Mo

Re: 1970 GMC New Look Transit Bus Modification

Are you looking for 10-12 kW of 12VDC or of 120VAC? Is the alternator you're referring to the one that maintains the bus charging system or the one for the food truck accessories? How many batteries does the bus hold currently?

-Rod
shorod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 05:53 AM   #3
Mikekom
AF Newbie

It would be AC. All my equipment is AC. The bus currently has 2 batteries used for staying the bus up. Standard car batteries.