Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Jeep > Grand Cherokee | Grand Cherokee SRT8
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2010, 09:56 PM   #1
pkrieter
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Franklin Park, Illinois
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Bleeding ABS W/O diagnostic computer

To bleed ABS brakes,the standard proceedure is to bleed the brakes, use an ABS diagnostic computer to cycle the ABS system, then bleed the brakes again. I know that when you start the car and begin to drive, at about 3 miles per hour, it cycles the system. If I raised the car off the ground,start it,and put it in gear, and accelerate it until I hear it cycle the ABS system, will this allow me to properly bleed the brakes without having to buy the expensive ABS diagnostic computer?
pkrieter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 12:09 PM   #2
fredjacksonsan
Caution: Monkey bites!
 
fredjacksonsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northeastern, Montana
Posts: 9,802
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Send a message via AIM to fredjacksonsan
Re: Bleeding ABS W/O diagnostic computer

It should. The vehicle doesn't know if it's actually moving or jacked up.

This is the first time I've heard of the computer being used...on all my vehicles, I've bled the brakes as normal, even with ABS.
__________________
13 F150, 5.0 4x4 SuperCab, 68k
GF: 08 Jeep Liberty 3.7 4x4, 122k
fredjacksonsan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 10:17 PM   #3
pkrieter
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Franklin Park, Illinois
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Bleeding ABS W/O diagnostic computer

Thanks. I've seen it suggested many times and I know most people don't want to go buy an ABS diagnostic computer just to bleed brakes
pkrieter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 11:24 PM   #4
hundahunta
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wahiawa, Hawaii
Posts: 835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Re: Bleeding ABS W/O diagnostic computer

you only need to bleed the abs if you replace the hydraulic control unit
hundahunta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:47 PM   #5
pkrieter
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Franklin Park, Illinois
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Bleeding ABS W/O diagnostic computer

Good to know. Thanks .......
pkrieter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 03:29 PM   #6
e40water12
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: lavoy
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Smile Re: Bleeding ABS W/O diagnostic computer

I think the only time you need diagnostic computer for ABS is if you trip the module into default mode. Then you need to recaliberate system. The same old school non Abs bleeding the brakes works, the same as Abs way/ Just don't allow the master cyl to run out of brake fluid.
e40water12 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks

Tags
abs, bleeding, diagnostic, tool
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Jeep > Grand Cherokee | Grand Cherokee SRT8

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts