Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Automotive Art > Car Modeling > WIP - Motorbikes
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
WIP - Motorbikes Post topics for any "Works In Progress" motobikes projects in this sub-forum.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 08-16-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
Tombag
AF Newbie

Custom Bike Project

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum but hopefully I can begin with a bang. First things first I'm not experienced in modelling so you'll have to forgive me if I'm slightly misdirected at times!

Basically I'm planning a project to build a bike which doesn't exist in kit form or any other for that matter, so I'm having to go with what I've got. That means there's some things I'll have to get made from scratch so for a first serious model it's not exactly a small endeavour.

This is the bike, I have plenty more reference images however they're from over a few years where sponsors and tiny bits changes which is a pain.

I'm using a Tamiya Guzzi V10 Centauro kit as a basis for the frame, engine and other small parts. There are definitely bits of that kit which are inaccurate but I'll have to figure things out as I go.

The gigantic issues I'm faced with at the moment are bodywork and decals. I haven't been able to find donors accurate enough for the fairings / fuel tank and honestly I don't think I'm going to, as a result I've been thinking about resin casting. With no scaled original to go on though I can't even make a mould! Does anyone have an idea how I can get these parts made?

The decals will have to be custom printed as well. I can design the sheet myself no problem but I just need to find who can do proper decal printing.