Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Triumph > TR6
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 02-07-2007, 08:16 PM   #1
Fonzie544
AF Newbie

Car comming out of 8 year storage

Hey everyone!

Im a newbie! 19 years old and im really big into hondas! Earlier this year my girlfriends dad asked me to get his triumph tr6 working for him that has been sitting in his barn the past 8-10years really dusty tires flat etc. My dad and i did alot of work on our spitfire when we had it 5 years ago but now dads onto bigger and better things (06 Corvette Z06). So i started working on it last summer. Got the tires replaced so its actaully jackable spark plugs replaced, new battery, new intake filters etc. I took the rocker shaft off and took it to my work (local subaru,buick,pontiac dealership) and put it in the parts washer (due to the fact of when i got it started the head of the motor wasnt getting oil) but it still doesnt spit out any oil on the rocker shaft.... now it might be that i havent changed the oil yet and that its lost all its vescosity....

Any suggestions on what i do?
also the brakes are rusted and im thinking about replacing them anything else i should look for or do before i do that?

LET ME KNOW GUYS!
THANKS!
Fonzie544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 06:54 AM   #2
my89rx7gtu
AF Newbie

Re: Car comming out of 8 year storage

So is this car in pretty good condition? Did it start easy?
Not sure about the oil prob. But defiantly change it.
The rusty brakes, as far as the rotors go you can get rid of the rust just by driving on them or you can sand them down etc.

-----------------