Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Mitsubishi > Galant
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 01-08-2011, 04:15 PM   #1
stoopithed
AF Newbie

Suspension Troubles

Ok so this might be a little long I apologize in advance.

I bought my 02 Galant ES used. It was lowered, had an exhaust, racing headers and some nice extras. About 3 months ago I found out that my Galant had a cracked coil spring. Terrifying. I was told by like 3 shops that whomever owned the car before me did a crappy home job of lowering the car and that they cut the springs. I'm new to this so I believed them. So I decide to buy new kyb shocks and rear mounts (they were bad), and megan lowering springs (brings it up from about 3" drop to a 2" drop). I wanted it done right this time. So i drove it for a bit out of necessity then decided to let it sit til I get the parts and money. 2 months later I finally have the parts and money to get it fixed and I have a mechanic come to me to fix it. After paying $35 to rent an air compressor (his was broken) he takes off the front passenger side wheel to take a look and I found out that I actually had coilovers in my car. Cool except that doesnt help. Then he tells me I need new strut mounts for the front cause the springs cant sit on what I have on them. I order some new ones ($40 w/ shipping). He came back yesterday and I'm excited. Woo hoo gonna drive again! Turns out what I need was the upper spring seat. Nobody carries them not even the dealership has em in stock. So I pay $50 each for 2 front strut assemblies at a junkyard. This is getting costly and I have 4 mouths aside from my own to feed. GF is pissed. We get the springs compressed and stuff