Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio
Car Audio Do you live in your car? Then you need to be able to listen to some high-quality music.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2004, 11:23 PM   #16
tblake
In God We Trust
 
tblake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 5,970
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Send a message via MSN to tblake
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

your amp is fried. If it keeps blowing fuses as you stated, and is in protection, its an internal amp problem, and cannot be fixed with just simply replacing the fuses. If you keep on sending current to that sucker, its gonna get worse and worse. Just for the sake of arguement, get a buddy's amp, and hook it up in your car with your hookups, if it works, and I bet you that it does, then you know your amp is fired. Although I have already concluded this. If your amp went into protection, and you shut your car off, and an hour later turned it on, and it was still in protect, that rules out heat as being the problem, and the fact that the protect light comes on tells me its getting the power it needs. The amp is fried, I am 99.9% sure. You can all doubt me, but I repair these things for a living. If you want, shoot me a model number, and I can quote you a repair price. Dont trust me? check my ebay feedback, jblake_54.
tblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:23 AM   #17
PaulD
Audio Guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 4,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via AIM to PaulD Send a message via Yahoo to PaulD
I have a magnetic circuit breaker on the amp power line, I love it
PaulD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:25 AM   #18
Haibane
AF Fanatic
 
Haibane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,416
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Haibane
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

yeah... I had thought about doing those...
__________________
www.cloudcity.deviantart.com
Haibane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 02:01 AM   #19
alphalanos
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: clearwater, Florida
Posts: 2,654
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so its most likely fried. what caused that? just a matter of heavy usage over time?
__________________
96 EJ6. Future home of boosted B18C1.
alphalanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 01:38 PM   #20
tblake
In God We Trust
 
tblake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 5,970
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Send a message via MSN to tblake
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

could be a number of things. Transistors heat up, and short out. Are you hitting subs that use a lot of the wattage put out by the amp? Is it an old skool amp that might not turn off if it gets hot? Maybe a fried voice coil in a sub caused a lot of current flow, and shorted your amp out. Just to see if the subs arent causing it, unhook them, and try the amp, see if its still in protection. If not, your subs are fried.
tblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 01:48 PM   #21
sr20de4evr
AF Enthusiast
 
sr20de4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX, Texas
Posts: 3,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

Quote:
Originally Posted by tblake
your amp is fried. If it keeps blowing fuses as you stated, and is in protection, its an internal amp problem, and cannot be fixed with just simply replacing the fuses. If you keep on sending current to that sucker, its gonna get worse and worse. Just for the sake of arguement, get a buddy's amp, and hook it up in your car with your hookups, if it works, and I bet you that it does, then you know your amp is fired. Although I have already concluded this. If your amp went into protection, and you shut your car off, and an hour later turned it on, and it was still in protect, that rules out heat as being the problem, and the fact that the protect light comes on tells me its getting the power it needs. The amp is fried, I am 99.9% sure. You can all doubt me, but I repair these things for a living. If you want, shoot me a model number, and I can quote you a repair price. Dont trust me? check my ebay feedback, jblake_54.
Just because a fuse stops conducting that doesn't mean it's blown....AGU fuses suck ass, they can break just from hitting a pothole, even if no current is being sucked through them at the time. I've "blown" 3 AGU fuses and my amp is in perfect working condition, because in each case the fuse never actually blew, the end just came disconnected from the actual fuse. When I pulled the fuse holder apart it ripped the fuse in half.
__________________
'01 Black Sentra SE
Weapon-R intake, HS header, HKS catback, ES motor mounts, B&M short shifter, Tein coilovers
Alpine 9835, Adire Koda 6.1, Adire Brahma 15, Arc 2100cxl, Linear Power 2.2hv, Cadence ZRS-8

'05 Silver WRX STi
Injen SES Downpipe, HKS Carbon-Ti catback, Cobb Stage 2 Tune, TiC Super Shifter, TiC Klunk Killer, Tein springs, Nitto NT555R Drag Radials
sr20de4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:41 PM   #22
tblake
In God We Trust
 
tblake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 5,970
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Send a message via MSN to tblake
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

True, but if he does use agu fuses, and he replaced it, wouldnt the amp work? A blown fuse stops all current flow going into the amp, If a fuse blew, the amp would not go into protection. It would simply not light up at all.
tblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 10:42 PM   #23
alphalanos
AF Enthusiast
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: clearwater, Florida
Posts: 2,654
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i took the pwr wire fuse out and its ok. not broken apart or anything, i tested the wire and it reads 12.8. my sub still works too. still, this is the last time i buy rockford wires. ive had nothing but trouble from them.
__________________
96 EJ6. Future home of boosted B18C1.
alphalanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 10:54 PM   #24
sr20de4evr
AF Enthusiast
 
sr20de4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX, Texas
Posts: 3,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

Quote:
Originally Posted by tblake
True, but if he does use agu fuses, and he replaced it, wouldnt the amp work? A blown fuse stops all current flow going into the amp, If a fuse blew, the amp would not go into protection. It would simply not light up at all.

LED's don't take much power to light up, the current from the remote wire would be more than enough to light up the protection LED.

Every time my AGUs broke the amp's protection light came on
__________________
'01 Black Sentra SE
Weapon-R intake, HS header, HKS catback, ES motor mounts, B&M short shifter, Tein coilovers
Alpine 9835, Adire Koda 6.1, Adire Brahma 15, Arc 2100cxl, Linear Power 2.2hv, Cadence ZRS-8

'05 Silver WRX STi
Injen SES Downpipe, HKS Carbon-Ti catback, Cobb Stage 2 Tune, TiC Super Shifter, TiC Klunk Killer, Tein springs, Nitto NT555R Drag Radials
sr20de4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 10:59 PM   #25
sr20de4evr
AF Enthusiast
 
sr20de4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX, Texas
Posts: 3,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphalanos
i took the pwr wire fuse out and its ok. not broken apart or anything, i tested the wire and it reads 12.8. my sub still works too. still, this is the last time i buy rockford wires. ive had nothing but trouble from them.

so you get 12.8V at the amp's power terminal?
how about at the amp's remote terminal?

So the sub still works on somebody else's amp but not on yours, right?
__________________
'01 Black Sentra SE
Weapon-R intake, HS header, HKS catback, ES motor mounts, B&M short shifter, Tein coilovers
Alpine 9835, Adire Koda 6.1, Adire Brahma 15, Arc 2100cxl, Linear Power 2.2hv, Cadence ZRS-8

'05 Silver WRX STi
Injen SES Downpipe, HKS Carbon-Ti catback, Cobb Stage 2 Tune, TiC Super Shifter, TiC Klunk Killer, Tein springs, Nitto NT555R Drag Radials
sr20de4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 11:31 PM   #26
tblake
In God We Trust
 
tblake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 5,970
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Send a message via MSN to tblake
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

True on the protect light, but I'm just saying I've never come across one that lights up protect when the fuse blows. I guess it is possable. It sounds like your amp got too hot, and a, or series of, transistors shorted out. What type and model number is this amp?
tblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 11:38 PM   #27
Haibane
AF Fanatic
 
Haibane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,416
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Haibane
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

my amps had always went into protect when the fuse blew out...
__________________
www.cloudcity.deviantart.com
Haibane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 04:16 PM   #28
Mannyb18b
AF Enthusiast
 
Mannyb18b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 918
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Mannyb18b Send a message via MSN to Mannyb18b
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

my amp when into protect when mine blew
Mannyb18b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 11:28 PM   #29
tblake
In God We Trust
 
tblake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 5,970
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Send a message via MSN to tblake
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

I've never had it happen before. Are we talking the fuse inline with the power, or are we talking the fuse or fuses on the amp itself?
tblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 01:03 AM   #30
sr20de4evr
AF Enthusiast
 
sr20de4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX, Texas
Posts: 3,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: amp went into prot. and never came out

I'm talking about the one in the power cable
__________________
'01 Black Sentra SE
Weapon-R intake, HS header, HKS catback, ES motor mounts, B&M short shifter, Tein coilovers
Alpine 9835, Adire Koda 6.1, Adire Brahma 15, Arc 2100cxl, Linear Power 2.2hv, Cadence ZRS-8

'05 Silver WRX STi
Injen SES Downpipe, HKS Carbon-Ti catback, Cobb Stage 2 Tune, TiC Super Shifter, TiC Klunk Killer, Tein springs, Nitto NT555R Drag Radials
sr20de4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts